when should I sow tree lucerne?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by davenz, Jan 13, 2008.

1. davenz

davenz Junior Member

I have a bunch of seeds I'd sown in December (9th) and I'm only seeing germination of about 1/12. I did scarify them by boiling and leaving overnight. Is there an ideal sowing season for tree lucerne? And if it's spring/autumn because "you sow everything in spring/autumn silly" please tell me so 'cos I'm a noob :)

I have maybe 75 or so left to sow so waiting for your sage advice!

Oh, and while I'm on the subject - is there any other way to ensure those pink nodule thingies appear other than:
    1. adding rhizobium inoculant at sowing time
    2. sowing into inoculated soil already

Both of which are troublesome because most people round here don't know what I'm talking about when I mention "rhizobium inoculant" or they have to courier it across country for $20 a pop when I only want to sow a dozen seeds and it might not be the right stuff anyway (BeckerUnderwood's NODULAID?).

Lastly, how and when do I check properly that nitrogen fixing is happening without killing the plant (I only have 3 very fragile seedlings so far!)?

Thanks!!

2. Jez

Jez Junior Member

G'day scoob,

At the risk of sounding like a broken record yet again, please people, if you're asking questions include your (at least rough) location and climate details and anything else relevant to your particular growing conditions. There's a facility for adding your location in your profile and you can edit your profile at any time by clicking on the 'profile' link at the top of the page.

Who knows how many questions get passed over or not quite answered right because the answer is dependant on these things and people can't be bothered asking you what your climate/soil etc is like?

That wasn't aimed just at you scoob, heaps of people do it. :D