What is the best way to go about getting a Diploma in Applied Permaculture?

Discussion in 'Jobs, projects, courses, training, WWOOFing, volun' started by LillyZ, Feb 2, 2013.

1. LillyZ

LillyZ New Member

I have been practicing Permaculture since 2010 following my first PDC. I have been converting 3.2 acres of chemical monoculture GMO into a thriving Permaculture property with swales, food forest and natural buildings in northern Thailand. I was told I could get a Diploma following 2 years of practical experience from the PRI at Zaytuna Farm. Previously I could find information regarding this on their website, but now no longer. Does anyone know if this is still an option? Anyone have any information on obtaining a diploma based on 2 years of experience in the field? Thanks!

2. purplepear

purplepear Junior Member

Farm manager/ educator
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    warm temperate - some frost - changing every year
    I understand it is no longer an option since Bill and Lisa did a dummy spit a couple of years ago and no longer run the college effectively. That may be a bit harsh but something of the situation as I see it.
    If you want credentials in permaculture you can start by establishing your own. You do this by developing your site into a model for others to look at and they say you are doing it great then you draw up your own diploma on a word document and print off a copy for your wall or cv. Or if you can not get the demo site working then write a book.

You could contact Robyn Francis as she has devised a great system for obtaining accredited qualifications in permaculture.Or you can get recognition from Craig here at PRI and when people see the you are PRI accredited they will no longer need to see the diploma.

For me, doing (living) permaculture is so much more important than getting th paperwork sorted.

3. cdoug_e

cdoug_e Junior Member