weatherproofing / waterproofing mud bricks

Discussion in 'Designing, building, making and powering your life' started by jubuntu, Sep 12, 2007.

1. jubuntu

jubuntu Guest

Im looking at building a couple of raised garden beds out of mudbrick as i have plenty of clay and rather poor soil.

I figured to do so with mudbricks would be a cheap and entertaining project, however Im concerned that in a bed type situation they would degrade due to the internal moisture of the bed and exposure to the elements.

has anyone had experience in this before?

also, if you have a personal recepie for your favorite clay/straw/sand mix it would be appreciated as im a complete novice and have read a few different opinions online as to the mix.

thanks in advance

2. IntensiveGardener

IntensiveGardener Junior Member

hi jubuntu,
    I'v never done this but its not a bad idea. I'v seen plenty of garden fences made from mud bricks and standing out in the open without washing away etc...
    I beleive the render you put on them is important to stop erosion and water logging of the bricks. When i made mud bricks for a building we used a thin slurry made of cow manure (fresh), bondcrete and mud. Seemed to work wonders for sealing the bricks.
    I'm not sure how the sides of your bricks will hold up on the inside, where they contact with the topsoil, compost, mulch etc...
    It seems as though the more biological activity in the soil, the faster the bricks will deterioriate. Maybe try lining the inside wall of the bed with straw to insulate the bricks from the soil.
    cheers,
    IG

3. jubuntu

jubuntu Guest

I read up on some ancient techniques and it noted that mudbricks were laid on a stone foundation to protect from damp, so im guessing it may be an issue for longevity.

i may look at either painting the inside with a weatherproofing paint, or possibly lining the inside of the walls with plastic.

4. han_ysic

han_ysic Junior Member

render

Hi Jubuntu,