Volunteer/places to visit in Central & South America

Discussion in 'Jobs, projects, courses, training, WWOOFing, volun' started by Benn, Jun 23, 2005.

1. Benn

Benn Junior Member

Hi all,
    I'm about to head os travelling through Central America (including Cuba)from August 05 till Jan 06 and then down to South America for another 5 months. I would like to find out about any volunteer opportunities or permaculture projects that I can visit along the way. I am prepared to volunteer for an extended period of time. I lived in rural Cambodia for 12 months, so have some experience living with challenging conditions.
    I completed a PDC with PRI in Jan 03.
    I have a degree in Env Science and have been teaching intro courses in permaculture to teenagers for the last two years.
    I am not looking for a free ride, I'm just keen to find out more about practical permaculture at work.
    If anyone would like more info or has any contact details that I should have a look at, I would be very happy to hear from you.
    Thanks heaps,
    Benn

2. kayy

kayy New Member

cambodia?

I was wondering where in Cambodia you were, i was there 2 yrs ago and plan to go back... Thanks!

3. christopher

christopher Junior Member

Hi Benn,

We run a small homestead that we are turning into a demonstration farm in Belize, Central America. We are on the WWOOF Independent and WWOOF Australia lists under Maya Mountain Research Farm. We do agricultural training for NGOs and, lately, Peace Corps, and we are hosting a PDC here next february.

We have 70 acres of land, with about 10 acres in some form of cultivation/management. The balance is habitat and biological reserve.

We can pretty much always use volunteers.

I will post out "scary letter" which outlines what people can realistically expect here. Its long, but informative, and anyone else interested in volunteering here can read it, too:

Write if the scary email doesn't scare you away!

Christopher

Dear WWOOFers ,