vegetable discoveries

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by wormwood scrubs, Oct 19, 2011.

1. wormwood scrubs

wormwood scrubs Junior Member

I am quite new to growing vegetables, but i have found a few "new" foods eating parts either not normally available or not normally edible in store bought veg. My first forays into gardening were actually inspired by the desire to cook with new and/or better veg.

My new favourite roasted veg is fennel root! I love it!

Please share your own discoveries as i am keen to try any new taste

2. pippimac

pippimac Junior Member

Salsify. The roots are delicious roasted. Mine's flowering right now and it's very beautiful. I'll be growing scorzonera next season, which is the perennial version.
    Rocoto chillies. I've only got seedlings, but my mum's plants are great. Perennial in less than tropical climates, kind of 'viney', and trelliseable and really, really productive. The fruits are like a small, hot, fruity bell pepper.

3. Yukkuri_Kame

Yukkuri_Kame Junior Member

ooh, those are definitely going on my wish list...

4. wormwood scrubs

i have salsify and scorzonera growing but they're still little - those chillies sound like they deserves a try

5. Grasshopper

Grasshopper Senior Member

Jicama and wing beans are pretty good

6. mischief

mischief Senior Member

s/e
    Climate:
    Cool mountain
    What about the florence fennel,if you cut just above the root they will re grow, giving you that amazing taste without having to replant every year.

Check out the Kim chi websites,this tastes great with or without the amount of chilli koreans use and is a really good way of preserving your surplus veg.
    It gave me the idea of growing the chinese cabbage which I usually dont like and ginger.
    The chinese cabbages seem to be faster growing too.

7. Grahame

Grahame Senior Member

Have you tried kohl rabi and kale? they are two of our favourites.

Celeriac?

8. permasculptor