Trainer/teacher wanted for Philippine projects

Discussion in 'Jobs, projects, courses, training, WWOOFing, volun' started by Skywoolf, May 10, 2009.

1. Skywoolf

Skywoolf Junior Member

Its early days yet but I am in the process of buying a one hectare beach front lot, a half hectare hilltop lot and other land on Samal Island, Davao, Philippines. I intend to build a house (on the hilltop lot) and a beach house, at the beach of course. These two lots will be the first to be used for permaculture.

My intention is that when I have something to show I will hold talks for local people to teach them permaculture if they are interested. Many of these people have farm lots that are far too small for them to feed their families using conventional farming.

A local congressman has just heard about my plans and has offered 2,000 square meters at the botanical gardens to be used as a permaculture demo.

I am a raw beginner with permaculture so this has become a bit much to handle. I can get help from the local youth groups and maybe (big maybe) some financial help.

So now to get to the point. Is there an experienced permaculture designer here who would be prepared to come to Davao if I pay for air tickets and accommodation?

2. gregips

gregips Junior Member

3. christopher

christopher Junior Member

Re: Trainer/teacher wanted for Philippine projects

Hi,

That sounds fantastic. Looks like Greg is very close! If that doesn't happen, I have 20 years experience working in tropical agroforestry. More about where I live here www.mmrfbz.org. I would love to help.

Good luck. We had a Phillipina student here last year who was wonderful.

Best wishes,

Christopher

4. Skywoolf

Skywoolf Junior Member

Thanks Guys,

I got the email notification of your replies but when I tried to see them the site was down and its now Sunday so Greg has left the Philippines.