Swale Savvy Expert Assistance

Discussion in 'Put Your Questions to the Experts!' started by Michael Bocskovits, Feb 13, 2016.

1. Michael Bocskovits

Michael Bocskovits New Member

Climate:
    Temperate forest. Tennessee, USA.
    Hello experts,

I am just beginning to learn about permaculture design, which was motivated by reading about and watching a few Geoff Lawton's videos. I recently purchased a neglected old 17 acre farmstead in Knoxville, Tennessee, USA which was a lifetime dream of mine. My goal for the property is a permaculture design, but I am struggling with the ground works aspects of design. The property has some grade to it, but overall I love the layout of the property. To the north (northern hemisphere), I am protected by forest and the approach to a mountain, and to the south, I have good southern exposure to the house and pasture (6 acre), and a good east to west sun tract.

Not sure where to start on swale layout? I have some natural valley's that could become ponds with some clearing and earthworks. Also, the pasture looks like a good place to have some swales. Any advice, would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! Michael

I have added a topo map and google picture of property to get an idea of property layout.

Attached Files:

2. 9anda1f

9anda1f Administrator Staff Member

Climate:
    Semi-Arid Shrub Steppe (BsK)
    Hi Michael and welcome!
    Good job on posting your topo map. Did you make the drawing from a USGS map?
    As to swales, I'll assume that you're able to view the videos on geofflawton.com and have seen Geoff's water videos describing the in-ground plume of water flowing downhill at right angles to contour.
    So my question would be to what purpose will your swales be used? Have you seen this swale page? https://permaculture-and-sanity.com/pcarticles/permaculture-earthworks-and-swales.php