Putting a track down slope from a swale. Will it work?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by our eden, May 8, 2012.

1. our eden

our eden Junior Member

Home Page:
    Climate:
    Warm Mediterranean
    Hi, I wonder if anyone can help me. we are here in Portugal & in the valley that that we live, the local council want to build a track up the the valley to a water mine & replace the old tube for a larger. Originally they wanted to follow a the old foot path but this would have meant that they destroy a lot of terraces & destabilize the slope. So being a permaculture designer I came up with the design ( see it here: link) . Adapting Geoff Lawton's Sketchup model (thank you Geoff:)) I put the proposed track,down slope from and on contour swale, ten or so meters higher the the old path, in line and up on the top terraces. My question is do you think it is wise to put a compacted earth track attached to a swale? Have any of you tried this and what was the out come? Also do you think it is a good design? any ideas on how i could improve it?
    I have been invited to present my design to the council in the next months. They are have put a hold on following the old path and are keen to know what I propose.

2. matto

matto Junior Member

Sorry, just joined to dropbox but still cant access the file...

3. Pakanohida

Pakanohida Junior Member

403 error when trying to view the image.

4. our eden

our eden Junior Member

Home Page:
    Climate:
    Warm Mediterranean
  5. eco4560

eco4560 New Member