Poorly potatoes

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Tulipwood, Oct 11, 2009.

1. Tulipwood

Tulipwood Junior Member

By all accounts I appear to have attached two photos of my potatoes - I hope. This is my first attempt at growing potatoes and in general I am REALLY happy - have harvested lots of delicious Sebago potatoes ... it took me back to Easter Egg hunts or finding a hidden nest when the chooks were free ranging when i was a child.
    However ... I don't know if my potatoes are actually dying from natural causes, or whether they are sick. Not long after they first came up they were covered in lady beetles, but other than that I've not seen much in the way of good or bad insects around them. The leaves have all gradually become covered in these brownish spots which are see-through. The whole patch has got it and most of the plants look pretty dead - hence I harvested them.
    What do you think?

Also, all so far have had beautiful potatoes ranging in size from tiny (cherry tomato size) to the normal size seen in supermarkets. However, one potato had about 1/2 its crop gone or going rotten. Is this from a disease, or maybe overwatering ....

2. gardenlen

gardenlen Group for banned users

Re: Poorly potatoes

not sure tulipwood,

could be bug attak and other?

yes ahrvesting was the thing to do as now is not teh right time for potato's as our experience has been, we have 2 plants going along nicely grown from certified seed potato's the lady beetles are giving them a bit of a go over but nothing disasterous, trying not to water too much at this stage of their season.

the roting ones may indicate blight in shich case don't plant spuds there again, were they certified seedies? if so then it may be over watering or some other disease? can you show pic for the more expereince ones here?

len

3. milifestyle

milifestyle New Member

Is there any browning in the potatoes themselves ? I'm tempted to say its blight.