Permaculturing it up at Namo Buddha Resort, Nepal

Discussion in 'Members' Systems' started by JDouglas, Jan 15, 2011.

1. JDouglas

JDouglas Junior Member

Hello all!

My name is James Douglas and I’m writing you from Nepal. I’m actually Canadian but I’m working in Nepal right now. I studied organic farming in Canada for one season then started traveling through Asia about one year ago. I spent some time on farms mostly in India before coming to Nepal.

In Nepal I took a short course about permaculture and was invited afterwards to come and work at an organic farm/resort nearby. So now I’m at Namo Buddha Resort, https://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&so....595935,85.559464&spn=0.279314,0.607681&z=11 .

I arrived around November I’ll be here for the next few months. I started with the idea of a “permaculture redesign” but actually that is a bit too much me to handle, there is so much to think about! So I will narrow my scope and be doing some smaller project work here.

The altitude is 1800m, decimal coordinates about 37.1,-95.6. It’s a very mountainous area in the foothills of the Himalaya. There is a lot of terraced space in the neighborhood where people grow mostly vegetables (onions, cauliflower, carrots, mustard leaf seem to be the main ones), mustard, buckwheat, mandarins, persimmons, potato and rice. The climate is continental I guess, with a large day/night fluctuation. In the day right now it is about a high of 21, low 3. There are only a few frost days per year. Rains come during the wet season almost exclusively. This past year the rains came almost exclusively in August. As is typical for a monsoon area, when the rains do come we get over a meter of rain in one short season. The soil is mostly clay, I don’t know what kind.