Pee fertilizer

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by kikosisko, May 31, 2007.

1. kikosisko

kikosisko Junior Member

HI anyone using Pee as a fertilizer? Im new to gardening and am in the innercity and have no space for a composting toilet and would probably get thrown in jail or lynched for that anyway so i decided to pee in a jug and dilute it with water. That way i wont be wasting flush water and will be watering and feeding the garden too! any thoughts? im keeping plastic bottles by the toilet for this purpose.

2. SueinWA

SueinWA Junior Member

First, check out The Humanure Book by Joseph Jenkins, free text online at https://www.weblife.org/humanure/default.html

Unless you have a bladder infection or something like leptospirosis, your urine should be sterile. You'll have to dilute it 1:10 with water. I think you have to use it fairly fresh, and not store it.

Try it on a few plants and see how it goes. Just keep in mind that nitrogen isn't a complete fertilizer, so read up on what your plants require.

3. gardenlen

gardenlen Group for banned users

g'day,

we use it all the time, my pee gets collected and used daily generally for no other reason it is mixed with other grey water so it goes around to more plants. everyone should dispose of their wee water in other ways, just doesn't make sense to use scarce drinking water to flush it as very many do.

when you read "humanure" maybe you could use a bucket and sawdust and recycle your own waste that way, somewhere somehow i want to get back to a composting toilet routine, again not necessary to waste scarce water flushing a good resource, only to have them filter it and send it back for everyone to drink it.

because we use wee water we don't get the neighbours ferel cats in our gardens. they used to come before we moved in and recycled.

len

4. kathleenmc

kathleenmc Junior Member