PDC further studies 2010

Discussion in 'Jobs, projects, courses, training, WWOOFing, volun' started by Mrs Parker-Bowles, Mar 8, 2010.

1. Mrs Parker-Bowles

Mrs Parker-Bowles Junior Member

Hello,

I am a Permaculture Design Consultant operating a small business in Victoria. Over the past 12 months I have received many calls from PDC students who are either looking for work experience or advice about how they may further their skills in the hope of pursuing a career in permaculture design.

Having completed my PDC some yeas ago I later stumbled upon and enrolled in the Diploma of Ornamental Horticulture at Kangan Batman Institute. This course was particularly useful in developing my skills as a professional design consultant.

The following are just a few examples of the subjects within the course that people pursuing a professional career in permaculture will find beneficial.

Soils – The course will provide students with in depth knowledge about how soils are created, types of soils, their structures, geographical influence, erosion and how plants respond to different soils. Students will look at a number of agricultural practices including:
    Permaculture
    Keyline design
    Natural Sequence farming
    Bio-dynamics
    and Aquaculture among others.
    Understanding the different practices and how elements of each can be applied in design is certainly advantageous to PDC students.

Plants – beginning from the identification of plants to the collection of seed or propagation material. Students learn all about plants from their biology and physiology to their health [mineral requirements] including pests and diseases.