OT: I'm a bit sad...

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Antonino Giglio, May 7, 2005.

1. Antonino Giglio

Antonino Giglio Junior Member

Hi everyone.
    I wanted to share something with you and ask you some suggestion.
    I'm italian, and I've been studing horticulture in Melbourne for almost 2 years.
    I came to Australia to change my life and to do that I change my job.
    I was web produc designer in Italy but coudn't migrate with that qualification.
    So I choose something that I liked and started studing for a new qualification that would allow me to stay.
    Changing country is not easy, as you can immagine, and here i've no relatives.
    I study and live in Melbourne and i love this city, its multiculturalism.
    Untill some day ago I thought I could stay in melbourne after the school and ask for residency.
    But the immigration laws in this country changes all the time and makes things more and more complicated for people like me that are trying hard to live here.
    Ok for the changes in the laws but is it fair that they change so many times and is it fair that the rules of the game change when you have already started playing? Well I think it is not fair!
    Anyway, now it seems the only way I could try to get residency is to go to live (for at least 2 years) in the regional area in areas where there are big farms (and therefore jobs in demand) like Swan Hill.
    That means starting everything from the biginning as I need to find new house, find new friends (Swan Hill is 4 hours drive from melbourne) and so on.
    In this moment I feel really stressed...
    My desire after the school was to start working in the permaculture field but it seems that for now I've to forget this.
    Yes because by the immigation law I can only stay here if I find a farm or nursery that could sponsor me for 2 years and I don't think there is any around in the sustainable field who can do it.
    So... does anyone know Swan Hill?