Nitrogen fixing vines (climbers)

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Lantis, Jan 22, 2016.

1. Lantis

Lantis New Member

Climate:
    Slovakia, northern moderate zone
    Hello!

So I'm fairly new to all this but really excited to finally find something meaningful in my life. I did some research about nitrogen fixing plants, found out that not all n-fixing plants are created equal (some fix more nitrogen than others) and also found out that there are some n-fixing climbers that could grow in my climate (Slovakia, central Europe). These are:

Groundnut, Apios americana, Zone 3 (M) - edible
    Price's Groundnut, Apios priceana, Zone 6 - edible
    Beach Pea, Lathyrus japonicus maritimus, Zone 3b-7 (M)
    Earth-Nut Pea, Lathyrus tuberosus, Zone 6b (M) - edible
    Tufted Vetch, Vicia cracca, Zone 6 (M)
    American Wisteria, Wisteria frutescens, Zone 5 (M)
    Kudzu, Pueraria montana lobata, Zone 5-9 (H) - edible
    Lathyrus littoralis (M)
    Lathyrus polyphyllus (M)

H - high n-fixer
    M - medium n-fixer

My question is, how would you best put them to work? Where would you place them? Is it OK, to plant them near fruit trees and nut trees or should I just utilize them as a living walls? I think the idea of having a nitrogen fixing plant providing nitrogen for the tree it is growing on is great, especially if it isn't taking up too much space on the ground and what more - is edible! Do you have any experience with these plants? If so, please share your wisdom.

Thank you very much!

2. Bryant RedHawk

Bryant RedHawk Junior Member

Arkansas Senior Appraiser
    Climate:
    USDA zone 7b,8a.
    We have taken the approach of not planting anything that does not give us something edible in return for use of the space needed.