Mulberry Tree - Fruit failure???

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by cathy, Sep 24, 2007.

1. cathy

cathy Junior Member

Hi,

This question is for my lovely neighbour who keeps us supplied with happy-chook eggs.

She has a mulberry tree growing inside her chook pen (it's a huge area with only about ten chooks). The tree flowers, fruit form but then the fruits all shrivel up go brown and die. I did a bit of reading in books and on the internet, but cannot find anything about this problem. Most things say - mulberries, easy to grow, drought tolerant, lots of fruit, woohoo!

Certainly the ground around the tree is very dry and totally "chook-scratched", but my reading indicates they have a deep root system so this shouldn't be a problem. Also the tree itself and the leaves look just fine.

Could it be a nutrient problem? Too much nitrogen and not enough potassium perhaps? As I have no experience with mulberry trees (or much of growing anything successfully - yet!) any knowledge or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Cathy

2. SueinWA

SueinWA Junior Member

"Drought-tolerant" doesn't mean they don't need water.

From https://www.crfg.org/pubs/ff/mulberry.html :

"Irrigation: Although somewhat drought-resistant, mulberries need to be watered in dry seasons. If the roots become too dry during drought, the fruit is likely to drop before it has fully ripened."

Sue

3. cathy

cathy Junior Member

Thanks Sue,

That does sound like what might be happening. I had assumed that as it is a reasonably well-established tree, and our rainfall here is pretty good (about 1100mm per annum) that it would be doing fine without extra watering. However, the ground all around it is totally bare from the chooks, so perhaps it is suffering from lack of moisture retention.