muddy road/track tips and advice

Discussion in 'Designing, building, making and powering your life' started by hasgar, Dec 3, 2014.

1. hasgar

hasgar New Member

Hi folks, first time poster anywhere so please be gentle :) I live jn the UK and have bought a few acres of land that we live next to on a boat with my family. I am hoping tp solve ghe problem of access to the land as it is heavy clay and is impassable to a point by vehicle. I have had the idea to use recycled concrete railway sleepers to allow access but the costs are crazy ( it will cost at least £1000 to cross 25metres of this mud). I have had an jdea to use used car/truck tyres (tires) tied together with heavy rope or bolted together to form a modular mesh/network which i will then fill with gravel. The weight should ensure that the tyres remain together and allow water to drain out as well. Being a blue sky novice i fail to see any negatives to this approach but i would value constructive advice to save me a lot of hard work and a small amount of expense before i grow a pair and begin to dig and stop dreaming! Does anyone have any ideas about this or possible alternatives? I do not want to put down hard core rubble as a base as these would require planning permission from our local government and technically we should not be living on the land without their permission in the first place so ideas that will not draw attention to our acfivities would be nice! I hope to plant willow along the track to help dry it out but we do need a short term solution as wjnter setes in. Thanks in advance :)

2. eco4560

eco4560 New Member

Why is the water collecting there in the first place? Can you improve the drainage?

3. Bryant RedHawk

Bryant RedHawk Junior Member

Arkansas Senior Appraiser
    Climate:
    USDA zone 7b,8a.
    If there is enough slope to the land, you can put in swales to prevent so much water from collecting for a start.