Lost in Spain

Discussion in 'General chat' started by Comfrey, Apr 16, 2008.

1. Comfrey

Comfrey Junior Member

Hello Everyone

I'm new to permaculture and to this (or any!) forum. I've really enjoyed reading through the site and I'm hoping to get a bit of encouragement from you...

I'm living in South East Spain, in the mountains just behind the Mediterranean, it's a fantastic environment with lots of native herbs and spectacular scenery, also a lot of pensioned-off peasants who spend their days blasting everything that grows or moves with chemicals. It's olive, almond and early cherry country.

I've got a little patio garden out the back of the house and a strip of terraced land five minutes walk away with some young fruit trees and a few vegetables. I think the soil is lime/clay, I'm not very good at that sort of thing, to me it just looks the wrong color (light grey) and texture (dust or concrete). There's an ancient, complicated watering system by channels and aqueducts from up in the village. so there is water available for the cost of a run up the hill to pull the stopper out - but what to do with it when it gets down to us? I don't know how swales would translate to what is essentially a flood irrigation system, I think watering is probably the first, major difficulty.

Anyway, the plan is to transform all this into a lush mini food forest to feed my three littlies, without too much expense or labour (!!), but it's a bit daunting at the moment. I'm not having much luck finding people or plants here in Spain, so I'd really appreciate your ideas.

In return I'm quite good on herbs of all sorts...

Thanks a lot!!

2. kathleenmc

kathleenmc Junior Member

Re: Lost in Spain

Hi Comfrey,

Would love to urge you on your self sufficient way with encouragement and support.
    Lot's of first things you need to do: