Licorice roots wanted, and yams!

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Tropicana, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Tropicana

Tropicana Junior Member

Hi everyone,

the vegie garden is starting to take shape and we're really happy with what we've done so far, (if a little late in the season : :razz: )

What I would really, really like right now is a source of fresh licorice root, so that I can start growing that healthy and delicious herb. Can anyone help?

Also, I am an absolute beginner when it comes to yams! (haven't even tasted one! :oops: )We have the kumara in the no-dig now, as well as some ginger, but I am finding really hard to even spot a yam anywhere (hubby saw one lot in the local Woolies :cry: ' but it looked a bit old'). I read an article in the Grassroots mag about them once, but there were no names attached; it was an article by lady on the Sunshine Coast for the community permaculture gardens there. That was really the only mention of where to get them. (The yams) If anyone is growing yams or knows more about where to get hold of some for us to try and then plant, I would be most grateful.

Happy autumn gardening all!

Tropicana

2. permasculptor

permasculptor Junior Member

3. Tropicana

Tropicana Junior Member

Re: Licorice roots wanted, and yams!

Thanks permasculptor!

I had followed links to her other web-site, which offers info on hers, etc. Due to some law or other, I guess she wasn't allowed to advertise this other web-site, which I think is a little weird, :? but there you go! So now I know that she does actually sell the herbs and so on as well as give out the gen, great stuff!

Thanks again,

Tropicana

4. sweetpea

sweetpea Junior Member

Tropicana, I highly recommend boiling cut up yams in chicken broth, then puree-ing into soup. It's thick and wonderful, and you can add seasonings like lemon pepper, garam masala, curry, a little sugar, and even toss in some rice.

What are you going to do with the licorice roots?