Learning about Permaculture

Discussion in 'Members' Systems' started by TrevNorman, Mar 2, 2012.

1. TrevNorman

TrevNorman Junior Member

I have started to make a record of what we are planning to do at our house. It will be lots of planning and only a little slow action. I should have called my blog "watching grass grow".

But at least it's a start.

Would love your visitation and comments (I am new to Tumblr and I am using a 3rd party HTML code to receive comments. I hope it works)

https://permalearner.tumblr.com/

2. eco4560

eco4560 New Member

Lots of planning and only a little action shows you are on the right path. Geoff Lawton say 100 hours of thinking and 1 hour of work, rather than 100 hours of mindless work and 1 hour of thinking.

3. Pakanohida

Pakanohida Junior Member

Agreed, if I ever had a motto it would be, "Work smarter, not harder." My property was left "fallow" the entire first year (and most of the 2nd) on purpose.

4. TrevNorman

TrevNorman Junior Member

Had a few hours to kill so prepared a hugelkultur bed. Never done this before so I have no idea if it will work. I did my research and think I have followed the steps roughly enough.

Changed my mind about Tumblr, I am now keeping photos at photoblog. I will post just one photo here though, there are a few more at the photoblog.

[​IMG]

https://www.photoblog.com/permalearner

5. S.O.P

S.O.P Moderator

I was just about to say that the Tumblr looked like an interesting way to blog, single large pictures with a description.

Where are you located? I see some Eucs, and some Casuarinas, and they look planted.

Hugelkultur looks good, but that looks like a crap load of effort for such a small bed. Based on your other photos, I don't think your ground is wanting moisture, is that a Citrus next to the chicken shed? That thing looks massive and healthy.