Home grown for our own consumtion isn't enough

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by baldcat, Oct 31, 2005.

1. baldcat

baldcat Junior Member

I would like to be able to provide for my dog as well...
    Anyone wanna share some pet food recipes ?? Surly can 't be that hard to boil up some rice, put in some liver and gravey, add some vegies.. ??

Well I'm sure thats what I'll do, but just wondering on the nutritional bit and what I should really incude to make he stays healthy...

I'm over paying a fortune for food for him.. when he'll eat what were eating without any hessitation.

2. forest

forest Junior Member

Dan, I have a very nutritious recipe that I've been feeding my two Airedale Terriers for over 8 years. The vet tells me they are very heatlhy and fit.

You'll need a large stockpot and several small plastic sealable containers for storing it in the freezer. It makes enough for 7 or 8 days for 2 dogs. I serve them from the pot the first day and I defrost a container each night for them. They love it.

1 kilo of pet mince from action - it's beef mince
    3 cloves crushed garlic
    1 cup brown rice
    2 cups lentils or barley or soup mix or beans (presoaked)
    2 dessertspoons Vegemite
    3 cups of chopped fresh vegetables of your choice - but remeber dogs can't eat onions
    enough water to fill the pot.

Combine in the pot and bring to the boil. Simmer for 1 hour.

:)

3. Richard on Maui

Richard on Maui Junior Member

Take one cat or dog. Remove skin and entrails. Put in a large casserole dish with some home grown taro and herbs of your choice. Bake until tender. Alternatively, as the old Hawaiians used to do their dogs, feed an exclusive diet of sweet potato for some months before spit roasting.

I am actually very very serious. :rolleyes:

4. bazman

bazman Junior Member

Big pot 10-15lt

1 or 2 kilos bloody coloured pet mix from butcher $1.50, shop around as some mixes are light coloured and full of fat.