Hi From the Whitsundays

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by Tropical Developer, Apr 27, 2015.

1. Tropical Developer

Tropical Developer Junior Member

Hi There.

We moved the beautiful Whitsundays about 12 years ago, to get out of the city to raise our family. My wife is very focused on Organic lifestyle and natural therapies.

We are just in the process of transferring ownership of a 1 hectare block. Predominately flat with a bit of flood plain along the creek edge. The plan is to try and become as sustainable as we can on this plot growing fruit and veg. We are in the process of designing the house, and one area that is great interest is the possibility of combining a bio filtration system for a swimming pool, (it is the tropics) along with an aquaculture system for fish as a food source.

I am new to this whole area, a friend introduced me to the concept a year ago, as he has a small system using a 100 litre tank with fish under a vege patch.

Key areas I want to learn about are ratios of pool to fish pond to bio filter areas, what plants are suitable and can be grown in the tropics, what fish stock would be most suited.

Lat and Long are approx 20.16S 148.40E

This is the early stages of our project, and we are looking to get the foundations for a sustainable plot where apart from my carnivorous tendencies we can supply the bulk of our food for day to day life through the seasons.

With about 1500mm of rain per year, and plenty of sunshine, water collection and solar are not a problem. but limiting energy consumption and evaporation would be key elements to our design

Any help we can get, links to articles and successful designs, or advice at this early stage are very welcome.

Thanks

T

2. 9anda1f

9anda1f Administrator Staff Member

Climate:
    Semi-Arid Shrub Steppe (BsK)
  3. Tropical Developer

Hi Bill