Hello from Baja California

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by BajaJohn, Apr 5, 2017.

1. BajaJohn

BajaJohn Member

Climate:
    Hot desert/coastal
    Located in the town of Loreto in Baja California Sur, part of the Mexican peninsula that extends south of California. I am about 1300 miles south of Los Angeles, my previous home for 20 years. Before that I grew up and went to college in England. I learned to garden from my parents but didn't have a garden in Southern California, so this is my first attempt to garden in a subtropical climate.
    The climate is desert with summer days reaching 35C. Nights don't get much cooler because the nearby Sea of Cortez is a huge heat sink. Winter temps get down to about 12C occasionally. Over 300 days of sunshine a year. Cloudy days are rare with annual rainfall of about 7" +/- 15". In other words very variable annual rain with some dry years and some years with extensive flooding during a hurricane (accompanied by a spectacular emergence of otherwise never-seen frogs).
    I'm a retired scientist and just a hobby gardener though participating in the development of a community garden program to educate local families how to raise crops and teach about the environment (which is spectacular - it is a World Heritage Site, mostly because of the Sea of Cortez - described by Cousteau as the aquarium of the world). Huge Cardon cactus (pachycereus) grow wild with their bitter but edible "pitayas" along with other pitaya varieties (stenocereus). Mesquit grows in abundance and the huge, dry Arroyo are home to spectacular wild figs perched halfway up 30 meter cliffs with roots down to the Arroyo below.