Dryland permaculture

Discussion in 'Designing, building, making and powering your life' started by Serina81, Jun 28, 2009.

1. Serina81

Serina81 New Member

I live in a desert where we get 1.3 inches of rain a year on average. The land is almost perfectly flat with a tiny slope. I have a 40 acre farm and I want to use the little bit of water we get as efficiently as possible. I'm just getting into the whole permaculture philosophy and I was wondering if anyone has any advice. I do own water rights so I can irrigate, but again, I'd like to use water conservatively and take advantage of the few resources the desert provides.

Serina

2. kimbo.parker

kimbo.parker Junior Member

Re: Dryland permaculture

hello, I get 350 mm / year,
    you get 1.5 " about - mmm 25mm/inch- crikey! - not enough to settle the dust. Not enough for a lizard to drink.

I call my place "Desert On Hold", we catch, store and distribute our water.
    We use our abundant slope, contours, drains, dams, leaky dams, soaks,tanks,pumps and poly. We control the entire catchment area of our water, we are high in the landscape....and I thought we had it hard, untill I read your post.

I take my dripping hat off to you, because as I type it is fairly pissing down. About 70mm for June after a late start.

A person can get passionate about water harvesting when there is some water to harvest :wink:

Personally I am reluctant to loose even urine from my 'sytem'. It is saved and re-cycled. Food gardens are stacked containers (sinks are good), which receive irrigation from above the top level, draining and irrigating on the way down, with that water caught in a reservoir for recycle. Add top up water into the system, provide some aquaculture for filtration and fertilization and we have something you can fall in love with...a custom designed, personal, dynamic functioning sustainable system. A virtual model of nature, a work of art akin to sculpture.