Chook house designs...

Discussion in 'Designing, building, making and powering your life' started by kja, Nov 24, 2005.

1. kja

kja Junior Member

Anybody know of any sites or books I could check out regarding poultry house designs?

I would like to keep both chooks and ducks and have a resonable amount of room on which to build. We only really want about 4 chooks and 2 ducks. No rooster due to council regs and wanting to stay on good terms with the neighbours :)

It gets quite hot in the summer, 40C + on some days at the seasons peak, and high 30's are quite common, as well as resonably cool in winter, with the odd morning kicking off at bellow 5C for a few weeks.

The site in my yard where I was thinking of building gets good morning and afternoon sun all year, but I would be screening afternoon sun in the summer - its just to bloody hot.

Building is not a big issue for me, as I used to be a fencer and farm builder/fabricator not so long ago.

I have ready access to about 20 - 25 meters of 1800 high chain mesh and a small quantity of tin (all second hand) - the rest I would have to buy. I intend to build to last :)

Any good Ideas for me?

2. Tezza

Tezza Junior Member

Not sure on books but remember if practicle that is,to allow for those hot days,windy times,especially winter winds.
    A good tree can be used for future shade or shelter,also keeps chooks cooler in sun.

Tezza

3. bazman

bazman Junior Member

No plans just some photos of my setup, might give you a few ideas

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Main advice is the dig the wire into the ground to keep foxes out.

4. Ben

Ben Junior Member

Hi kja

I'm building one too, it's exciting isn't it!
    [​IMG]
    although i don't have as much room as i'd like yet

well, at first I found a book by alanna moore to be a great help
    aswell as many others available at your local library here..

https://203.103.50.238/cgi-bin/spydus.ex ... BS=poultry