CHINA-choosing my paradise to be. Permaculture in China. Asia

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by kelvinator3000, May 20, 2010.

1. kelvinator3000

kelvinator3000 Junior Member

Hello everyone. Im a 26 year old (27 next month) UK citizen from the midlands called Kelvin. Iv been living in china for a year and half and am married to an AMAZING Chinese woman called Xiao Gao. Luckily for me she is interested in permaculture and is willing to support me in buying/renting land and building our own self-sustaining natural materials house. The reason i say lucky for me is that 99.9 percent of chinese people are trying to flee the farm lands in search of prosperity in the citys with urban jobs and environment destroying homes with all the mod cons.

I am not an expert on chinese permaculture yet but from what iv seen and what i can find out, there are not many farmers that are using self-sustaining permaculture methods. Most-like the weston farmers-are bleeding the land by over plowing etc, loosing all the top soil and nutrients so the farm lands are dead. Lucky for them prices are still allowing them to use the chemical fertilizers.

Anyway, i am looking at sites with which to start my project. I am thinking about Hunan. My best friends home town would be perfect. Its a tropical (or maybe semi tropical?) area with fresh mountain water to drink coming off the mountian. For a while now people have been moving away from the area to move to cities and the sites I will be looking at havent been used in a long long long time so it is lush with trees and vegetation. Water in this area is plentiful and there is lots of sun. The people of the little villiage also are very natural in their living styles and there is almost not pollution there because of the environment friendly way they live.