Caterpillars At Night

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by sudeepbhaumick, Oct 16, 2008.

1. sudeepbhaumick

sudeepbhaumick Junior Member

About four days back I noticed my greens, particularly fenugreek, started missing leaves and now there are none left. Turns out the culprits are night time caterpillars. I dont know their species. I squashed as many as I could find yesterday after discovering them. They started with fenugreek but eventually started eating other plants too, spinach and marigolds.

My question is are these night time caterpillars controlled by the predatory wasps and lady bugs ? If they cannot harm these night time caterpillars then what can ?

Also there are white lines in the leaves of tomato plants. What is that and how do I fix that problem ?

I am a newbie to permaculture and have started my roof top garden about a month and a half back. Currently am living in Pune, India.

2. barely run

barely run Junior Member

Re: Caterpillars At Night

What about some ducks........would they eat the cattepillars?? ducks can be messy so you would need plenty of straw or similar on your roof top area.
    Cheers
    Cathy

3. sudeepbhaumick

sudeepbhaumick Junior Member

Re: Caterpillars At Night

sorry for the extremely delayed response. Ducks was not an option for mi because the roof is not big enough to support a duck [er... i don't know really if my roof can support a duck or not but i don't think so :)].

I searched around the Internet and found out that this is a common and serious problem in my part of the world and results in massive crop losses... The solution that farmers have now started to implement after pesticides and such have failed is as follows...

1. BURNING BRIGHT