Bushfoods - Getting started

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by newcroft, Nov 7, 2009.

1. newcroft

newcroft Junior Member

Anyone else into Bushfoods here?

I'm just getting started. I hope to get quite a few varieties up and running. For starters, I've just received seeds for;
    Bush Tomato (Solanum Centrale)
    Weeping Cherry (Exocarpos Sparteus)
    Native Riberry (Syzygium Luehmannii)

Any suggestions? Hints? Experiences?

Thanks.

2. ecodharmamark

ecodharmamark Junior Member

Re: Bushfoods - Getting started

G'day newcroft

You've probably done heaps of research, and just want to get out there and plant, but just on the off-chance that you have not read these, here's a list that I have on my shelf:

Cribb & Cribb

Useful Wild Plants in Australia
    Wild Food in Australia
    Wild Medicine in Australia

Low, Tim

Wild Herbs of Australia & New Zealand
    Wild Food Plants Australia
    Bush Tucker: Australia's Wild Harvest

Oh, and for a 'tip', try to grow what originally grew around (or at least near) your place - nothing like a few million years of evolution and natural selection to sort out what will grow and what will not. And while we are on the subject of all things Indigenous, try to tap into 'local' knowledge. Once again, nothing like the passing of a few millenea for learning to understand what grows well, and how to grow it. Many areas have a strong and continuing pattern of local knowledge available - try searching at your nearest library for 'Aboriginal Food Plants [insert your locality]'.

Cheerio, Marko.

3. ppp

ppp Junior Member

awesome! We don't have any bushfood yet, but are certainly interested.. let us know how they grow!?

4. newcroft

newcroft Junior Member

Nope! Just want to 'get out there and plant' anyway.

I'll try to chase up those readings when I get a chance. Thanks for your help.

5. Bird

Bird Junior Member

6. gemjill

gemjill Junior Member

G'day