Building a Compost Tea System

Discussion in 'Designing, building, making and powering your life' started by DSmith, Dec 5, 2010.

1. DSmith

DSmith New Member

Hello All!

I'm a PDC graduate, working here in Jordan, and we're trying to make a large scale compost tea system. I think I understand the basics of compost tea pretty well, but what I'm particularly interested in figuring out is the aeration system-is it important to have some sort of fixed tubing inside the container, or can we just loop some hose on the interior? Basically we're not trying to make a perfect system, just a good system, and we're trying to make it around 1000 liters. What is necessary?

If anyone has any plans or advice, put it up. Importing systems to Jordan is complicated, so we're going to need to do it ourselves.

All the best,

Dan Smith

2. SueUSA

SueUSA Junior Member

I've only made compost tea in a 5-gallon bucket, so I'm no expert on large systems, but...

Isn't a tea system simply a container with large 'tea bag' of compost suspended in it, with a pump/tubing/bubbler stone to keep the tea oxygenated? I would think a few tubes with their ends held down in the bottom of the tank would do the job.

You can complicate anything all out of proportion to what is needed, but the more complicated it gets, the quicker it seems to break down. All you have to do is move air through the tank. That's it.

Sue

3. matto

matto Junior Member

G'day,
    Have a look at https://trustnature.com.au/brewer_1000 and their brewers. They have specifically made them for fungal dominant brews, and they have found that it is best to have a circular motion in the stirring, from top to bottom, rather than an agitated effect.
    Also transfering to the spreader, its best to use a centrifugal pump rather than a diaphram pump.. again for keeping optimum fungi levels.
    Good luck, wish this stuff was open sourced!

4. DonHansford

DonHansford Junior Member