Banana Circle in Auckland

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Crystal Lil, Jan 12, 2009.

1. Crystal Lil

Crystal Lil Junior Member

Hello everyone. I've done a bit of a search on the forum and on google for info about growing bananas in a banana circle. I was thinking of doing this in my city garden in Auckland. I've got a spot outside the laundry window where I could probably build a 1.5m diameter circle and feed a hose from the washing machine to water them. I'm growing potatoes there just now, though - just planted at Christmas time. I'm quite new to potato growing, so I'm not sure exactly how long it will be until they're not occupying that space anymore - maybe 5 - 6 months? In which case, it would be winter by the time I could build the banana circle.

What time of year would be best for planting the banana palms in Auckland?

There are quite a few feral banana palms around where I live and I reckon I could forage some suckers/pups from them. Would I be right in thinking I would need about 5 plants to start a banana circle that was about 1.5m in diameter?

Also - I've read that you can interplant with sweet potatoes, canna lillies and taro. Would kumera work as well? Any other suggestions? I don't particularly like taro!

Thanks for your help,

Lil.

2. Bennz

Bennz Junior Member

Re: Banana Circle in Auckland

Hiya Lil,

I'm a little south of you at waimarama Hawkes Bay. I would seriously suggest not planting your bananas until spring, winter is just too cold for tropicals anywhere in NZ. Not too late to plant now in Ak, if you have time, but not in winter.

I have trialled 23 cv.s of banana here, and have found Paccha Nadaan, Misi Luki and Pisang Awak to be the best for our cool climate. Nestlebrae Exotics at Helensville have these, nice people.