Backyard Urban Food Forest Design

Discussion in 'General chat' started by Naveed, Feb 19, 2013.

1. Naveed

Naveed Junior Member

Hello,

I live in Central NJ and am trying to establish a food forest for experience in permaculture, self-sufficiency, aesthetics, etc. I have a degree in Agriculture but have not taken a pdc course. Because I live in suburbia I would only like food bearing trees on my front yard but anything can go in the back. I do extensive vegetable gardening in the summer but would really like a design that can give me the most food per sq ft. If anyone can PM me if they're interested and I can email them sq footage of front and back yard as well as pictures of the site. If someone can quote me an affordable price, I can compensate them through paypal. I looked on Permaculture worldwide network and was not able to get in touch with anyone in my area. I sent some emails but got no replies.
    Thanks

2. purplepear

purplepear Junior Member

Farm manager/ educator
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    warm temperate - some frost - changing every year
    you really must do a PDC Naveed. With your background in agriculture and vegetable production you are best placed to do the design yourself plus there is so many more benifits to having done a PDC outside design. We need to get over the "living in suburbia" and realize the importance of divertity and celebrate the beauty. A food forest will have plants that give to the system in ways that may not seem productive to you and can not be measured as output but are essential for the productivity of the system in the long run. A food forest in suburbia may not be the best use of the land for food production and the intensive gardening may be just the thing for you. All this systems thinking will come to you if you take a PDC as they are more about the way you aproach life than about how to grow things.
    Good luck on your journey.

3. Unmutual

Unmutual Junior Member

+1