a radical change

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by Lantis, Oct 28, 2015.

1. Lantis

Lantis New Member

Climate:
    Slovakia, northern moderate zone
    Hello everyone!

My name is Lantis, I've recently turned vegan, I love nature and I guess that is why I love permaculture. I live in the capital of Slovakia, have a meaningless job that I want to give up and invest all my money to buy a piece of land, some quiet far-away place, that I'd like to turn into a permaculture farm. So far I've been searching for a meaningful work that would enable me not only to protect the nature but also create conditions for life for many animals and plants. This is a dream come true and no matter what the cost will be, I will follow it.

I have no experience with farming, I have only seen some documentaries by Geoff Lawton, Martin Crawford and Sepp Holzer and also read a book by Holzer. I am also reading some stuff on the internet as well as looking into companion planting and so on. As I've mentioned earlier, I wan to invest all my money into this and only keep a small amount for expenses. Right now I'm contemplating the PLAN and all the questions of how big a land should I buy, how many animals and what kinds should I keep, how many fruit trees and what varieties etc. There is just so much to do! It is great to finally have a purpose. My question for you would probably be - if you would be in my shoes, how would you proceed, or what would you pay the most attention to?

Thank you all!

2. songbird

songbird Senior Member

gardening, reading, etc
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    -15C-35C, 10cm rain/mo, clay, full sun, K-G Dfa=x=Dfb
    it depends upon the area and what the surrounding community is like and what it will support. that is if you are trying to make a commercial impact. if instead you are interested in conserving wildlife, improving soils, growing crops and animals for food, etc. that can be a whole different approach...