2 types of pumkin???

Discussion in 'General chat' started by gerrys backyard, Oct 4, 2008.

1. gerrys backyard

gerrys backyard New Member

Hey guys I am new to this my name is Gerry and I've started a vegie patch where my pool used to be I live in Nth Queensland in a little place called Calen. It is succeeding very well I have sweet corn, eggplant, cucumbers, thyme, basil, corriander, tomatos(roma and cherries), strawberries, butternut pumpkins,and kent pumpkins, also zucchini, squash and carrots(2nd harvest).
    Anyway my question is can a butternut pumpkin and a kent pumpkin cross pollinate, as I have kent pumpkins taking on the form of butternuts but still have the colour of the kent pumpkin. Is this possible and have I created a new pumkin.?????? gerry

2. JoanVL

JoanVL Junior Member

Re: 2 types of pumkin???

Well, I can't give you a knowledgeable answer, but I do know that a pumpkin and a cucumber looked as if they'd cross pollinated in my garden last year. I got a pumpkin shaped thing with skin like a cucumber. I never found out what it tasted like as the vine died in the drought, when I wasn't allowed to water it under water restrictions, and hadn't yet got my grey water organised.

PS Your garden sounds great!

3. paradisi

paradisi Junior Member

this helps with pollination queries https://www.pumpkinnook.com/howto/pollen.htm

and your pumpkins can cross pollinate -

there's a site somewhere (in an old computers bookmarks) that lists the different types of "pumpkins" "squashes" cucurbits etc

problems with the site I've lost is it is american - and they sometimes call squashes what we might call pumpkins adnother strange things

4. gerrys backyard

gerrys backyard New Member

Thank-you

Thanks for that response, now I can't wait to see if these pumpkins that have cross-pollinated taste good if they do i will let you all know.

5. gardenlen

gardenlen Group for banned users