Hello from Adelaide

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by LisaJensen, Dec 1, 2012.

1. LisaJensen

LisaJensen Junior Member

Hi everyone,

I live on an 800 square metre block in the northeast suburbs of Adelaide. My day job is an atmospheric scientist so I only get weekends to enjoy my garden. I have reactive soil only a block from the "river". Mediterranean wet winters, dry summers. My place gets about 300mm of rain a year. One or two light frosts most winters. I started planting a food forest one year ago. I hope to supply fruit for my family all year round.

My overstory is established gums, lemon myrtle, an unknown deciduous tree, a pittosporum and a pepper tree. They provide enough shade that my fruit trees don't shrivel in the 40 degree heat with a hole in the ozone layer. In the semi-dwarf fruit tree layer I planted apples, plums, nectarine, fig, pomegranate, strawberry guava, persimmon, orange, lemon, lime, ruby grapefruit, acacia, banana, loquat and mulberry so far. All the fruit trees are small and were doing well in winter and spring but are now struggling a bit in the heat.

Shrubs I have so far are currants, youngberries, and blueberries. Herbaceous layer has sour sobs, chamomile, borage, nasturtiums, mustard, basil, cosmos, comfrey, dogbane, parsley, tansy, broad beans, arrowroot, allyssum, chives, sorrel, citronella, asparagus, vetch, oats, buckwheat, feverfew, thistles... have tried lots of other things but many die because I can't provide enough water with twice weekly drip irrigation. I'm waiting until my fruit trees grow a bit before I plant vines.

Fauna includes blue-tongue lizards, red wattlebirds, new holland honeyeaters, doves, magpies, a big rat and next-door's cat. I have plenty of worms, garden spiders, bees, aphids, hover flies, wasps, hornets, mosquitoes, caterpillars and butterflies, earwigs and cockroaches. I even have a balanced population of spider mites and their predator mites.
    My chook shed is currently empty.