Hi from Canberra

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by KirstenM, Aug 30, 2012.

1. KirstenM

KirstenM Junior Member

Hi everyone,

My name's Kirsten, and I'm an Australian writer/blogger/mother trying to live more sustainably in Canberra's suburbs. Well, in one of them :)

I joined this forum a couple of months back but then apparently never posted anything, but just came across it again in my search for information on hugelkultur beds. I am about to build a (very) raised vegie garden bed in my front courtyard, and think I'll try hugelkultur.

Other info about me: I have three children, ages 2, 6 and 10, and am trying - with patchy success - to bring them up to be producers, rather than just consumers, and to be prepared for an adulthood in a world that may be very different to the one they are growing up in (so far). I am also a web manager in the public service, very part time, run a website called Sustainable Suburbia (link in my sig), and try to find time to write as well!

Now, off to explore the forums :)
    Kirsten

2. Michaelangelica

Michaelangelica Junior Member

Welcome Kirsten :)
    Don't be a stranger

3. Excelsior Concordia

Excelsior Concordia Junior Member

Welcome, Kirsten!
    I appreciate what you try to do for your children and I wish you a lot of success :)
    Since you have three your efforts should be encouraged!

I wish you all the best!

4. Stubby

Stubby Junior Member

Welcome Kirsten :)
    Welcome back to the forum, I am a relative newbie and the info and help on here is awesome.
    Whereabouts in Canberra ... it's big nowadays and so different in climate from one end to the other, although the wind seems to be a constant.

5. S.O.P

S.O.P Moderator

Welcome Kirsten. Nice website you have there, spent an hour or so reading last night.

Now that I think about it, it seems very US-centric, and you're in Canberra, how did that come about?

6. KirstenM

KirstenM Junior Member

Thanks for the welcomes, I appreciate it.