I'm Rafter. I do research about permaculture. Participate!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by Rafter, Jul 21, 2012.

1. Rafter

Rafter Junior Member

Hey permies!

I'm a permaculturist and PhD student. I got tired of the deafening silence about permaculture in the scientific community, so I'm doing my dissertation about permaculture itself.

I'm just beginning the research phase of this project now. It starts with a web survey, which is designed to help answer some serious and simple questions about the permaculture movement.
    So far, response from the permaculture community has been awesome, for which I'm really grateful. I'll paste a flyer for the survey in below. Below that, I'll say a little about my history
    in permaculture, to help anyone who is interested get a sense for where I'm coming from.

I'm also slowly assembling a list of every permaculture-identified farming operation in the continental US (and some in Canada). In the coming year, I'll be visiting 50-70 of these sites for field agroecosystem research!
    So if you know of folks doing farm-scale permaculture, get in touch at Liberation Ecology Agroecosystem Research.

--link to web survey--
    [​IMG]

A couple notes about my life in permaculture and related stuff, for anyone who is interested:
    2003 - PDC with Peter Bane and Gustavo Ramirez at Gaia Ecovillage in Argentina. Apprenticed with Peter Bane at Earthaven Ecovillage for 4 months right after.
    2005 - Started developing the Liberation Ecology workshop curriculum to bridge some of the concepts in permaculture with social justice thinking.
    2007 - Student/guest taught with Geoff Lawton and Ethan Roland at Green Phoenix PDC in High Falls. Started developing the Mycoscaping workshop curriculum to better integrate mushroom production with permaculture.
    2008 - Begin a graduate program in Agroecology and Ecological Design with John Todd (among others) at University of Vermont.