Experiences In The Wet Tropics - Lat 15

Discussion in 'Members' Systems' started by BananaBender, Dec 29, 2011.

1. BananaBender

BananaBender Junior Member

Hi Everyone

This is going to be my thread on applying permaculture practices in the wet tropics. Im currently growing different tropical veges in both the dry season and also in the upcoming wet season to see what survives and what doesnt. Im also growing alot of exotic fruits and spices, bamboos etc.
    My family has a great interest in self sufficency and thats what the future goals are food wise.
    Its all been a interesting path so far, always learning and observing especially from the rainforest around me. Ive lurked on the forums for quite a while so guess its time i put a bit of input back.

Im not good with intros so i will leave it at that for now and add stuff as it happens.

Cheeers,
    BB

2. Ive Fargottin

Ive Fargottin Junior Member

Hi,
    I'm probably not qualified to welcome ya, as I've only been here a short while.
    But.........welcome,welcome anyway.:hi::hi::hi::handshake::handshake::handshake:
    Seeing as though your just up a bit from me, I share your joy and pain in growing stuff in the wild, wild north.
    Albeit you get a lot more wet stuff than me!

Man, that is my passion...:)....well, I'd like to get some interesting bamboo though.

What sort of exotic fruit and spices do you grow?

3. BananaBender

Time flies dont it?
    Well it was a odd wet season and this month has been wet too not to mention a few cold days. Having to actually put on a shirt has been a strange feeling.
    Been a busy time outdoors but things have been growing lush. Don't think i have really stopped in the last 4 months.