Feral rabbits & rabbit warrens

Discussion in 'Breeding, Raising, Feeding and Caring for Animals' started by deesalie, Nov 21, 2011.

1. deesalie

deesalie Junior Member

I'm interested to know what the stance on feral rabbits is from a permaculture point of view?

I've just received an email from a BIL who is working with a community environmental group to eradicate an extensive network of rabbits and their warrens by fumigating, using 1080 baits, and destroying warrens and he was interested in doing the same on our place.

I'm only new to permaculture principles but from my understanding quite often permaculture and conservationist ideas are at polar opposites. What could the potential benefits of rabbits be on a permaculture farm?

Any thoughts appreciated :)

2. ppp

ppp Junior Member

They are a pest that do great damage to the Australian landscape eradicate them. And move on

3. deesalie

deesalie Junior Member

Short n sweet....

4. dannyboy

dannyboy Junior Member

Fast food?

5. Grasshopper

Grasshopper Senior Member

Positives are they aerate and fertilise the soil,taste delicious and breed like rabbits.

6. pebble

pebble Junior Member

Climate:
    Inland maritime/hot/dry/frosty
    What country do you live in? What natural predators do the rabbits have? What is the land being used for? What grows there?

You don't have a rabbit problem, you have a surplus of rabbits and a shortage of... what? How are rabbits a resource?

Also, rabbit over-populations occur when land is degraded by other uses eg over grazing pasture with sheep creates ideal conditions for rabbits to burrow (they don't like long grass).