Permaculture - Getting paid vs. Paying to do it

Discussion in 'The big picture' started by insipidtoast, Sep 10, 2011.

1. greenman1

greenman1 Junior Member

im sure the money goes into great things but yes for people who grew up poor in non community orientated (im being kind) places, who work just to pay rent, its almost impossible to get the kind of money people are asking for. ive volunteered a tonne, ive been lucky i studied in ireland for two years horticulture/permaculture. it cost nothing really, 180 per year!! i recommend ths course. theres also one in britain for a few thousand
    pounds with famous british permaculturists. i am very jealous of people who can afford to do loads of really cool stuff and i feel like i could be really useful to the cause if given half a chance. i decided tto try and do a degree in forestry but its proving hard to find funds.

2. Tildesam

Tildesam Junior Member

Web Developer
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    Warm Temperate (Diggers Cold Zone 10, Hot Zone 4-6)
    Young Ya Yas

When I see threads about money and economy in Permaculture, I want to groan.
    Mostly because I want to vent as well.... so I'm going to, yahahaharr. (Hey, what are forums for? :D )

I suspect Inspid and FinchJ are also about my age too so I can relate somewhat to their context.
    I've only been working for 2-3 years but I can already identify this sort of loop occuring where you must earn to live, but can't live without earning.

From what I've read in the manual, and listening to talks from St Bill and St Geoff - work is an important part of creating abundance and sharing excess, and I think working hard and creating relationships go a long way to being able to live in such an environment; capital or personal profit are far from that notion I think.