How to tell when a ewe will lamb

Discussion in 'Breeding, Raising, Feeding and Caring for Animals' started by shimmergirl, Apr 9, 2011.

1. shimmergirl

shimmergirl Junior Member

I am new to sheep breeding and I have Suffolk, last time one of my ewes lambed I had I only just noticed she was pregnant and then next week there was a lamb.

Anyhooo my ewe is obviously fatter than the other one and her udder is now pretty full, not much different from the other one was when she lambed, although she is still hanging in her flock were as I recall the other one going her separate way.

Picking when a horse will foal is easy, is there an easy way of seeing these signs for when a ewe will lamb ?

2. hardworkinghippy

hardworkinghippy Junior Member

Hi Shimmergirl,

As you say they often separate themselves from the flock but not always. If you have the time to look carefully a good sign is a "far away" look in the eyes, head up and back and frequent yawning. Lying down and getting up frequently are also possible signs. You can run your hand along the left side of her flank to feel the position of the lamb - a major change from the day before shows that he's moving down towards the birth canal. Get into the habit of doing that regularly and you'll be surprised how accurate you can become.

The udder "bags up", that is, starts to look redder and very stretched - but not always. Sometimes the milk doesn't come in until after the lamb/s are born. You can see how the udder looks in this photo and you'll know that the birth is imminent when there's a white or yellow string of sticky fluid hanging from her vulva as these is here.

When you see that the tiny feet and squashed nose (In a normal frontal birth) will usually appear within half an hour or so.

[​IMG]

I hope that helps and I hope it all goes well for you and your girls.

Irene

3. shimmergirl