Interested in opinions on hydroponics

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by fiona, Mar 5, 2011.

1. fiona

fiona Junior Member

Hi all

I haven't posted here for quite a long time, but redoing my garden at the moment and trying out some new ideas.

I am trying to get more out of the space I have, and also to compete with all the bush turkeys. I also have a lot less time then I use to have to try and have a productive garden. I've only ever grown veggies in the ground and organically before, although since being in this house, they haven't been very productive. Could have been my lack of attention to it, although a neighbour keeps telling me the ground is dreadful here. I did just dig up the front yard that I've been adding compost and mulch to for the past three yrs, and the soil looks pretty good to me!

Anyway, I'm getting off track. At the moment we get through about a lettuce a day along with other greens, so I'm wanting to increase my growing space for greens and make it fairly easy. I'm happy to just pick outside leaves for "cut and come again" although good to be able to pull a whole lettuce sometimes.

So I've been wondering about doing some of it hydroponically - in pipes with holes attached to all our railings. I'm not asking about the method - unless anyone has great permaculture/organic suggestions. Just that I've always avoided hydroponics because of the need to purchase the nutrient, and the fact that it isn't a "natural" product. But now I'm thinking that it might be the easiest way to grow the greens. It would also make good use of our space (just on a house block) so I can use the veg garden areas for other veg (and some greens).

Aquaponics isn't an option as we're 99% vegan (with the 1% being cheese for the kids rather then meat/fish).