Hi all, check out my blank canvis

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by Abernethy Stanley, Dec 4, 2010.

1. Abernethy Stanley

Abernethy Stanley Junior Member

Hello, I'm new to permaculture, but have had a deep desire to go off the grid, and live more sustainably after visiting the most amazing sustainable house of a friend of a friend many years ago. I moved to Newcastle to study about five years ago, and have been renting until recently, when my wife and i purchased a half acre out of town. So this place is vacant, just the house, garage, driveway, and grass. I have a lot of room, and big plans. So far have established a compost, and a watering system running off the septic, and a plant propagation area. Chook pen, veggie garden, fruit trees, and worm farm, are short term goals, and solar and water tanks more money dependant, long term goals. Have attached some pics of the place, and i look forward to learning off those of you with more experience than i in all things permaculture.

Stan.

View attachment 1008 View attachment 1009 View attachment 1010 View attachment 1011 View attachment 1012

Attached Files:

2. ecodharmamark

ecodharmamark Junior Member

G'day Stan

Welcome to the PRI Forum

Nice block! Don't forget to introduce yourselves to your neighbours early in the process - they will eventually form a very important part of your overall design ;)

Cheerio, Markus.

3. Abernethy Stanley

Thanks buddy, will update with photos, but progress will be slow, have two and a half jobs, so i dont get to spend anywhere near the amount of time in the yard that i would like too.

Also have done ligament damage to my knee and have been off work, which is how i found this site. Was doing some research (studying waste technology at uni) on the use of compost in integrated pest management.

4. eco4560

eco4560 New Member

oooo No hills. I'm jealous! Looks like it will be an easy place to design for. Have fun!

5. purplepear

purplepear Junior Member