Best chooks to buy?

Discussion in 'Breeding, Raising, Feeding and Caring for Animals' started by sarahtas402, Aug 13, 2010.

1. sarahtas402

sarahtas402 New Member

Hi, I am new to all of this, I am wondering if anyone can help me with deciding which chooks to get for our new property. It is only 1800sqmtr, the back yard will only be about 300, so which chooks are best for laying, helping with weeding the garden and poo production? I was reading about the barnevelders in this months Organic gardener magazine and wondering if anyone out there has any advice?

2. purplepear

purplepear Junior Member

Farm manager/ educator
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    warm temperate - some frost - changing every year
    Hello and welcome to the forum. It is always nice to know from where in the world you are writing and there is an opportunity to add your location to the profile page. Welcome.

My experience with breeds of chickens favours Austrolorp as they are a peaceful chook with few problems. They are not as prolific layers as some of the purpose built breeds but they are consistent over a longer period. I have Austrolorps that are coming on to seven years old and they are still laying occasionally and they handle extremes of weather better.
    Hope this gets the discussion going as there are perhaps others out there as good. I have no first hand knowledge of the barnvelders but I will look them up for sure.
    regards Mark

3. sarahtas402

sarahtas402 New Member

Sorry about that, yeah location would help, I am in South australia in Angle Vale.

4. heftzwecke

heftzwecke Junior Member