HELP!!! where do I begin?????

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by nita, Sep 3, 2005.

1. nita

nita New Member

I am new to Gardening (let alone permaculture). I have purchased a block of bare land and would like to be self sufficient. I have started going to monthly permaculture meetings in my area but have found that I am stumbling in the dark. Could someone advise me on the best place to start with learning this new way of life and language.

2. bushy

bushy Junior Member

help for Nita

Starting from scratch is a big project, my first suggestion would be try and find a self sufficent gardener, or at least a serious gardener nearby and volunteer your labour in return for hands on advice.
    bushy

3. gardenlen

gardenlen Group for banned users

g'day nita,

you don't say what area on the sunshine coast you are in or how much land you have. i am just north of gympie not saying i know everything or even anything but would be willing to help. maybe we could communicate by e/mail and see where it goes? if you get the time read my permaculture essay on my web page it'll give you some idea where i am at. we have turned our block around in under 4 years. it can all be basic and simple and be little more than common sense.

i do like thinking outside the square and working outside the comfort zone.

so if you think i can help the balls in your court?

len 8)

4. sab

sab Junior Member

I borrowed some videos from the Gympie library which started me off. There were two or three there. One about a mandala garden was probably the simplest to apply straight away.

5. christopher

christopher Junior Member

Hi Nota,

Good for you. Land is a god place to start.

My advice would be to

1 See what other people near your land are doing, have done, and what has worked for them, and what has not.