mandala marked out - what's the next step?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Bandicoot Valley, Aug 9, 2009.

1. Bandicoot Valley

Bandicoot Valley Junior Member

We have finally begun our permaculture project. We're doing it in the Linda Woodrow style of a mandala incorporating 6 chook dome stations & a pond in the middle. So far I've marked out the pattern, laid heaps of newspaper on the pathways & loaded that up with eucalyptus mulch. We've put it in the sheep paddock & will re-fence in the next week or so to keep the sheep off it. The planting sections are full of paddock weeds.

What's the best way forward from here?

2. eco4560

eco4560 New Member

Re: mandala marked out - what's the next step?

Hello to Bandicoot Valley. Where are you exactly? I'm 6 months into my Linda Woodrow style garden, so I'm no expert, but I'm 6 month ahead of you!

Hint #1 It takes much longer to grow seedlings than you expect - at least it did for me. I thought 2 weeks tops and they'll be ready to go in the ground. Which meant that the chooks had LONG moved on from the bed before I was ready to plant it. And then the weeds get the jump on you. So pull out your book and some sheets of paper and plan which guild you are going to plant in which bed and when. Set up a seed raising area (you'll need more space than you think). Source your seeds, and collect the other bits you'll need - trays, seed raising mix, plant labels (trust me you'll forget what you put where) and things to use as bottomless pots - milk cartons, yoghurt tubs etc. You need a lot. Then start getting seeds germinating before you start moving your chooks onto place.

I've started seeds this week for when the chooks return to the first circle in 8 weeks time - I'll be doing her Guild 1 with a few modifications.

I cheated with the pond and had a landscaper set a bathtub pond up for me. You'll need to work out how you are making yours and out of what and start getting that organized too.