How should I get started in permaculture?

Discussion in 'Jobs, projects, courses, training, WWOOFing, volun' started by Lei Wu, Apr 20, 2009.

1. Lei Wu

Lei Wu Junior Member

Hi I've been interested in permaculture for a while, I've decided to go into it seriously. I live in China, my long-term goal is to help creating a permaculture project in China. I wonder what everyone's experience has been like learning and working on projects (I've never worked on the land before), and what would you recommend me to get started - a PDC course, diploma, internship and volunteering etc.. ?

Thanks

Lei

2. cjwardle

cjwardle Junior Member

Re: How should I get started in permaculture?

Dear Lei,
    There are no doubt many wiser heads who could advise you on this, but I thought as a relative 'newbie' to Permaculture, perhaps it may be helpful to share my own experience.
    After much personal reading about Permaculture, I joined a PDC offered by the Nepal Permaculture Group in June/July of last year.
    This has been followed-up with applying the techniques learned to the small suburban block owned by by wife's family in Quetta, Pakistan.
    My beloved and I returned to Nepal to do a four-month internship with a very experienced organic farmer late last year, which was a wonderful experience.
    Now we're back in the home garden Quetta, but are trying to interest people in the remote North-East of Balochistan by some small-scale demonstration work.
    Hope this may be of some assistance and all the best for the adventure ahead.
    Salaams from Pakistan,
    Chris Wardle.

3. gregips

gregips Junior Member

Dear Lei
    I would consider coming to China to teach a PDC feel free to email me at [email protected]

best regards
    Greg Knibbs

4. Hamishmac

Hamishmac Junior Member

Lei,