Problem running diesel on biogas

Discussion in 'Designing, building, making and powering your life' started by erawan, Feb 24, 2009.

1. erawan

erawan Junior Member

Hi

I am new to this so bear with me.

I'm with Engineers Without Borders doing a biogas project for a remote community hospital in Laos, we have a biodigestor which is running of cow poo and is generating biogas to run the burners in the kitchen and gas lights. They have a single cyclinder 10.5 hp diesel generator which is a chinese copy of a kubota diesel and I have been trying to run that on the biogas as well. To test I ran the engine on Propane and it worked well by just feeding into the air inlet, the biogas is diffrent it doesn't work at all, the engine runs eratically and then cuts out. The engine is old and in bad state of repair I suggest that it is down to about 13:1 or14:1 compression. Any pointers would be useful.

cheers

G

2. trimnut2

trimnut2 Junior Member

Re: Problem running diesel on biogas

erawan

I assume that you are not changing any of the fuel settings. Meaning that all you are doing is just feeding the biogas into the air intake. Are you using the same pressure "regulation" for the biogas supply as you used for the propane? I would try cutting the biogas amount/pressure? back and then slowly increase the amount/pressure and watch what happens. Keep in mind that ignition will only happen when the biogas oxygen ratio is suitable and the diesel can ignite the both the gas mixture and the diesel itself. My guess from the description is the engine progressively starved of oxygen. Let me know how you get on.

3. erawan

erawan Junior Member

Thanks for your reply

I rely do appreciate the help.