Aromatherapy and essential oils - use with burns

Discussion in 'The big picture' started by Suzie, Feb 12, 2009.

1. Suzie

Suzie Junior Member

Hi,
    I am an aromatherapist / massage therapist / art therapist living in NSW.
    Watching the recent terrible bush fire footage on tv I have the urge to drive to Victoria to try to help. But , Instead I thought I would pass on this idea which works absolutely amazingly and brings such relief to burns. Even small burns are extremely painful. (If the skin is broken I would see a doctor of course but as a first aid measure if nothing else is available or for treatment of smaller burns this is very effective).

If you have cold water to cool the burn do this first - then immerse burned part in 100% pure lavender oil or drip the essential oil over the wound catching it in a clean container to be dripped over the wound repeatedly.
    Follow this with aloe vera gel if you have any.
    The application of lavender oil may have to be repeated a few times but the relief is very noticeable and scarring is very much reduced.

(essential oils aren't "oily" - it is in no way like the old "butter on the burn" remedy)

*Important note -
    please make sure you use 100% pure lavender oil and not a massage oil or alcohol based water soluble lavender oil solution or a perfume oil. Other products used instead could make the problem worse instead of better.

The pure essential oil has antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, skin healing and pain relieving properties.

I have used this method several times and it works much more quickly and effectively than anything else I have tried.

Keep some lavender oil in the first aid kit for camping and barbecues.

Take care

2. Shade

Shade Junior Member

Re: Aromatherapy and essential oils - use with burns

When you state lavender, which lavender are you referring to? Botanical names are so important when prescribing treatments and prevents confusion (not to mention using the wrong ingredient :)).