Fires, Science, Learning, Design

Discussion in 'General chat' started by Jana, Feb 8, 2009.

1. Suzie

Suzie Junior Member

Re: Fires, Science, Learning, Design

Aromatherapy and essential oils - use with burns

Hi,
    I am an aromatherapist / massage therapist / art therapist living in NSW.
    Watching the recent terrible bush fire footage on tv I have the urge to drive to Victoria to try to help. But , Instead I thought I would pass on this idea which works absolutely amazingly and brings such relief to burns. Even small burns are extremely painful. (If the skin is broken I would see a doctor of course but as a first aid measure if nothing else is available or for treatment of smaller burns this is very effective).

If you have cold water to cool the burn do this first - then immerse burned part in 100% pure lavender oil or drip the essential oil over the wound catching it in a clean container to be dripped over the wound repeatedly.
    Follow this with aloe vera gel if you have any.
    The application of lavender oil may have to be repeated a few times but the relief is very noticeable and scarring is very much reduced.

(essential oils aren't "oily" - it is in no way like the old "butter on the burn" remedy)

*Important note -
    please make sure you use 100% pure lavender oil and not a massage oil or alcohol based water soluble lavender oil solution or a perfume oil. Other products used instead could make the problem worse instead of better.
    The pure essential oil has antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, skin healing and pain relieving properties.

I have used this method several times and it works much more quickly and effectively than anything else I have tried.

Keep some lavender oil in the first aid kit for children's cooking, camping and barbecues.

Take care

2. Suzie

Suzie Junior Member

Hi,
    sorry, I'm new to this. I posted the aromatherapy item and then went back to beginning and read the whole conversation that is going on.