Root Knot Nematodes HELP!!

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by lovingmygarden, Jan 31, 2009.

1. lovingmygarden

lovingmygarden Junior Member

Hi every one,
    I live in the dry tropics NQ(although it has been raining heaps for the last two weeks here). I grow lots of different fruit trees and my vegie gardens have vegies mostly year round. The soil is mainly sandy loam, which I have been incorporating plenty of organic matter into for the last two years trying to build it into healthier soil for my vegies. I have plenty of worms now, so I seem to be making some headway. My problem is I have root knot nematodes present and am wanting to know if anyone knows of some good plants that will help repel them (that will grow in our climate), or even any resistant types to grow (I mostly grow vegies, but i do have lots of fruit trees around the property too.. I do practise crop rotation, so hopefully that is minimising the problem, but I want to know if any one has any great ideas to help keep them at bay. I heard growing garlic is good, but it wont grow here, so do you think spreading garlic powder through the soil would help or would it just repel my lovely worms???? My last crop of tomatoes was very good, but I noticed they had RKN on their roots. I would like to jump on this problem as quickly as I can to prevent a bigger problem.
    I would appreciate any help I can get.
    Thanks heaps :)
    lovingmygarden

2. gardenlen

gardenlen Group for banned users

Re: Root Knot Nematodes HELP!!

g'day lovingmygarden,

of course if they are non permanent season plants like vege' doing crop rotation will help also. but do some online research i have heard of a beneficial nematode to deal with those blighters.