Starting out.. any tips?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by EarthMama, Dec 18, 2008.

1. EarthMama

EarthMama Junior Member

Hi there all,
    I am just starting out.. i have purchased lettuce (4types) Basil, Chives (Garlic chives also), a late tomato plant currently in flower,capsicum & Queensland Blue Pumpkin. I am about to plant in tubs as have no limited ground that i could use and a little concerned as to what is actually in the soil around here.
    Anyone who would like to share Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
    Also wanted recommendations for anything else i could grow in pots/1/2 wine barrels at this time of year?
    I am in the Eastern Suburbs of Melbourne.
    Thanks

"Be the change you want to see in the world" ~Gandhi

2. paradisi

paradisi Junior Member

Re: Starting out.. any tips?

shove it in, water it, feed it and see waht happens.

if a plant wants to grow it will - no matter what you try and do to it.

if you use seed from bought fruit - no cost and no problems trying them

if you use bought seedlings - 40-60 cents a plant so again no real cost and with your experimentation it will help you muchly in years to come

the biggest thing with trying to grow food is actually planting them. get the fingers dirty and hope they turn green.

big smiley at the end of this and a good luck good wishes message too

3. EarthMama

EarthMama Junior Member

Thanks!
    Well my hands got dirty & so did my son so all in all we had a wonderful day!
    Thank you for the welcome, advice and smile.
    Love the your blog title also :)

Another quick question.. i bought some 1/2 wine barrels with wine still in them.. apparently i need to fill and soak these a few times to get rid of excess wine before planting. I am worried about using all that water and it going to waste.. is there anything i can use this water on?

4. aroideana

aroideana Junior Member

What harm could a little wine do ? seriously :drinkers: